Prevent Blindness Announces Recipient of the 2019 Jenny Pomeroy Award


Prevent Blindness is pleased to announce that Dr. Cynthia Owsley, Nathan E. Miles Chair of Ophthalmology and Director of the Clinical Research Unit at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Medicine, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, has been named the recipient of The 2019 Jenny Pomeroy Award for Excellence in Vision and Public Health!

This award is presented annually to an individual, team, or organization that has made significant contributions to the advancement of public health related to vision and eye health at the community, state, national, and/or international level.

Dr. Owsley will accept the award at the 8th Annual Prevent Blindness Focus on Eye Health National Summit on July 17, at the National Press Club in Washington, DC.

Aspire MidPage June 19